Gluten Free Perogies

Standard

100_0528perogiesINGREDIENTS

1/3 cup tapioca flour
1/3 cup cornstarch
2 Tbs potato starch (not flour)
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs guar gum
2 eggs
1 Tbs olive oil

DIRECTIONS
Combine flours, salt, and guar gum. Beat eggs lightly and add oil. Pour egg mixture into flour mixture and stir. This will feel much like pastry dough. Work together into a firm ball. Knead for two or three minutes.

Roll out as you would pastry and cut circles using a tart cutter (about 3 ½ inches in diameter) or sharp knife.

Use your fingertips to wet the edges of each circle. Let the water sit for few minutes, making a nice, sticky edge. (By the time you get to the last circle, the first one should be just sticky enough. Spoon some filling into the center of each circle. Fold the circle in half, pinching and crimping the edges until they are sealed tight.

NOTE: A pastry wheel works very well for this.

FILLING

I like to use left over mashed potatoes and add cheese and onion(minced)

Be creative. You can add bacon bits, green pepper(chopped fine) or whatever you like.
To cook, place perogi in a large pot of salted boiling water for 10 to 15 minutes (and hope you sealed them tightly enough!). Remove with a slotted spoon.  Fry in butter until golden brown.

Serve hot with sour cream for dipping.

Any that you are cooking right away, set aside. Any that you will be freezing, place on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer until they are dry. Once they’re no longer sticky you can put them in freezer bags.

14 responses »

  1. Thanks. I have both starches. Will see which one works better. I will definitely let you know how it turns out. Experiment time this weekend. LOL

  2. I bet you can use potato starch but you might be happier using tapioca starch ( same proportions with either). My BF like these better than any other perogies he has ever eaten. Please let me know which you use and how they turn out.

  3. I have a corn allergy and wonder if I could substitute the cornstarch with potato starch in the same proportion. Do you think it would give the same dough texture? What would you suggest. I am excited to try this recipe since I am Polish and have always made “real” perogies until going gluten free and vegetarian.

  4. You can get the cutters in most kitchen-wares stores. I got one of mine on line (I believe it was Amazon) and the others I have had for a while. I can really remember where I got them from.
    Let me know how much you love your perogies (My boyfriend prefers them over the frozen ones I bought before I went gluten free!)

  5. I LOVE THIS RECIPE and can’t wait to try it! You mentioned perogies in your latest post, so immediately I went searching the blog. I grew up on Mrs. T’s, then the fresh pastry perogies from a local grocery store until I went gluten free. What a genius recipe.

    Where did you find your tart cutters?

  6. sorry, in my excitement to find this recipe i must have skipped over the eggs

  7. 2 eggs are listed directly below the xanthan gum. By the way, guar gum works as well and it is less expensive.
    Thank you for visiting:)
    Aunt Jayne

  8. In your ingredient list you do not list eggs, but in the instructions it mentions eggs “Beat eggs lightly and add oil”…so how many are needed for this recipe? Thanks

  9. I know you will love them!
    Thank you for visiting and please let me know how you liked the perogies.

  10. I’m doubly excited! Perogies are my favorite thing… to think I’ve been with out for so long! I making them tonight!!!!

  11. It is fairly easy to work with and yes, they are a little like a potsticker. The dough isn’t exactly like regular perogies but it is awfully close!
    Thank you so much for visiting – come again soon (I am putting donairs on my next post)

  12. Wow! These look exceptional. Is the dough pretty easy to work with? Also; I can’t remember pierogis pre-gluten free, so what is the cooked dough like? Kind of like a potsticker?

    Thank you! I hope to make these soon.

Leave a Reply

