Gluten Free Cream Puffs

INGREDIENTS

1 cup water
1/2 cup butter
1 cup GF all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbs cornstarch
4 large eggs
Vanilla or chocolate custard (about 2 cups, depending on how full you like your puffs)

DIRECTIONS

Bring the water and butter to a boil in a medium-size saucepan.

While it is heating sift together the flour, salt, and cornstarch.

Add the flour mixture to the boiling water all at once, stirring quickly and constantly with a wooden spoon until the mixture forms a ball around the spoon.

Remove from the heat.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition, to form a smooth, stiff, glossy dough.

Drop the dough by heaping tablespoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets, about 2″ apart.

Bake at 375°F oven until light golden brown and firm. (25 to 35 minutes)

Cool thoroughly.

Cut the puffs in half and fill each of the bottoms with about 1 tbs. of custard.

Replace the tops.

Dust with icing sugar.

Makes about 2 dozen.

Variations:

You can use whipped cream instead of custard.

You can make them into chocolate éclairs by drizzling them with chocolate.

NOTE: BE SURE ALL OF YOUR INGREDIENTS ARE GLUTEN FREE

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Cream Puffs

  1. Gald to hear you are enjoying my blog! And thank you for stopping by.
    I have not tried them hot (I try not to eat too much of the stuff I bake – I am already overweight) but I will try one that way next time I make them:)

  2. mmmm…these look quite yummy
    I am going to have to try them. Have you ever tried piping the dough out on to the pan?
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and inviting me to yours…
    I am having a good time reading though your entries.

    Fire-Eyes

Leave a Reply

