Diet VS Meds – Digestive Disorders

My good friend and fellow blogger, Denise, has honoured me by being my guest writer. Take a look at this well written post. It will make you think.

Diet vs. Meds

Denise Therese | April 1, 2010 at 3:27 PM | Tags: DietGastrointestinal DisordersHealthMedications | Categories: DietMedication| URL: http://wp.me/pRirr-2J

If you have Crohn’s, Celiac, Ulcerative Colitis, or any other digestive disease, you’ve probably had doctors urge medication on you. Maybe you’re already on medications for your condition. I am.

So what happens if you want to start the Specific Carbohydrate Diet? Do you go on the diet and stop your medications?

I don’t pretend to know exactly how you should decide. When I was first diagnosed, I had little choice but to take the medications. My disease had progressed to such a point that I needed instant relief. It was too late to give the diet a chance to do its healing work.

Medication, however, does not heal. It only tamps down the problem. And medications, in my opinion, are not always good for your body in the long run. Sure, you may be free of pain, bloating, inflammation, and diarrhea, but that doesn’t mean other parts of your body won’t be affected. On the other hand, the Specific Carbohydrate Diet gives the digestive tract a break, a time of healing. There’s no possible damage good, nourishing food can do to your body.

This doesn’t mean that you just stop taking your meds. I’m doing both meds and diet because I have to, but I am looking to the future, to the time when I can start weaning off my steroids. One of the highest priorities in my life is to marry and have children. I don’t know about you, but steroids + baby just don’t mix in my book.

So, what is my advice? If you are adamant about stopping your meds, consult your physician as to the correct procedure. Cutting them completely from your body all at once can be detrimental to your health. In about a week, I am going for my annual check-up with my gastroenterologist. I will be informing him that I would like to try tapering off my meds in the near future. How would he suggest I do this? If he advises against the taper, I will be asking for his reasons. Of course, since he will have reasons for his disagreement, I will be taking that into serious consideration. The doctor knows his business, and if he sees in my tests and my overall well-being signs of vulnerability, I will not be tapering off my medications.

In the meantime, I will continue to live on the SCD. Praise God; it has gotten me to the point where I can actually consider being rid of my meds! So I can be patient a while longer.

You can find more posts by Denise at     http://freetofeast.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

