Celiac and Allergies

I have been doing some checking around and I have discovered that I am not the only Celiac who has also developed allergies.

When you think about it, it makes a lot of sense.

Celiac Disease is an auto-immune disease and an allergy is an immune response to an allergen. (That is putting it very simply – let me explain)

Wikipedia describes Allergy as “Allergy is a disorder of the immune system which is a form of hypersensitivity.[1] Allergic reactions occur to normally harmless environmental substances known as allergens; these reactions are acquired, predictable, and rapid.”

You can read more of this article at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allergy

On http://glutenfreefaces.com I ask the question “Have you developed more allergies since being diagnosed with CD?

The most common allergies that Celiacs in this group had developed are:

Cats

Corn

Dairy

Dogs

Dust mites

Eggs

Insect bites/stings

Meat

Mould

Mushrooms

Nightshades

Peanuts

Quinoa

Rice

Shellfish/fish

Soy

If you have Celiac Disease and are still having health issues, I suggest you have some allergy tests done.

4 thoughts on “Celiac and Allergies

  1. You are so welcome! Thanks you for visiting and for taking the time to comment 🙂

  2. Wow, I never thought about it. I know I have had Celiac Disease since I was a kid, despite not finding out until I was 36. And I developed an allergy to cats when I was a teenager, which sucked because I had two cats at the time. The good thing is that I have found that I can tolerate certain cats. The closer to their wild relatives they are, the better. We have two cats now. One is half Siberian, and her sister is half Bengal. But I am having a lot of other allergy issues, too. I will have to look into tests. Thanks for the post. That’s really interesting info.

    Tia

  3. Well thank you for visiting and for sharing that! I hope you feel better soon.

  4. Yes, I knew that I had a wheat allergy when diagnosed with Celiac Disease but now I have tons of environmental allergies. I have been tested and tried allergy shots but my body couldn’t take them. I constantly think maybe I should give the shots one more try in the future. This is one of the main reasons we’re moving off the farm into a town.

Leave a Reply

