Celiac and Bi-polar Disorder

From what I can gather, I have had Celiac disease all of my life. (I can never remember a time prior to my diagnosis that I did not have gastro-intestinal issues)

When I was very young, I was diagnosed with many different diseases and disorders that were actually symptoms of Celiac disease.

One of the disorders I was diagnosed with was Bi-polar Disorder.

I had the classic symptoms. I suffered through bouts of depression (sometimes feeling I was in the depths of despair) and moments of euphoria as well as a really “bad temper”.

When I was first diagnosed, they called it Manic Depression.  I am not really sure when it became known as bi-polar disorder.

Bi-polar disorder can be a debilitating condition. As a matter of fact there are people on permanent medical disability assistance because they are Bi-polar.

Because Celiac disease is a neurological disease as well as an autoimmune disease, it is reasonable to connect Celiac and Bi-polar disorder.

I have read articles about children with behavioural problems that dissipated after starting to eat gluten free.  I have also read articles about adults who were severely depressed (In some cases suicidal) who improved greatly after beginning to eat gluten free.

Since starting my gluten free lifestyle (I don’t like to call it a diet) I have had greatly reduced symptoms.  My “mood swings” are within the norm.  I still get a little depressed, but not so anyone else would notice. I still get angry but I can control my outbursts and when I am elated by anything, it is no longer over the top.

Does everyone who has Bi-polar disorder have Celiac disease?  I doubt it very much. Bi-polar disorder can be caused by chemical imbalances in the brain due to other causes.

Does everyone who has Celiac disease have Bi-polar disorder? No.

Can Celiac disease cause symptoms similar to Bi-polar disorder? It did in my case.

If you want medical facts about these two issues, I suggest that you check the following sites:

If you believe that you could have Bi-polar disorder or Celiac disease, please see your health care professional for help.

6 thoughts on “Celiac and Bi-polar Disorder

  1. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 🙂
    I am so very sorry to hear of all the tragedy in your family! I am happy that your depression has gone. I don’t understand those who won’t get tested. The tests are not as bad people think and well worth it, all though they could just go gluten free if they are that worried.
    My brother is sweet and supportive as are the rest of my family – I am very lucky.
    Take care of you,
    Jayne

  2. That’s interesting. I have been wondering about that for a while now. I am convinced that my Celiac Disease is from my mom’s side. All kinds of crazy stuff happening that I am sure would have been better if the doctors knew what to look for. At least 4 that I can think of that committed suicide. A few others that tried, but thankfully, did not succeed. Plus cancer, lupus, etc. Unfortunately, no matter who I tell, they are happy for me that I found out, but they won’t get tested. I am very glad my depression has gone away.

    Also, you have a very cool brother. So sweet and supportive.

    xoxo,
    Tia 😛

  3. Thank you for sharing this Sarah! I am definately going to try to read this book.
    Take care of you,
    Aunt Jayne

  4. There is a huge link between the gut and the brain – I love the book Gut and Psychology Syndrome by Natasha McCampbell-McBride. It’s a fascinating read and explained so many things I had been experiencing that I never knew were related to the food I was eating!

  5. Wow Jon! That means so much coming from you! Thank you so much.
    I love you tons♥
    Jayne

  6. Just your little bro’, popping in to say “Hello”.

    Each and every time I visit your blog, I am more impressed than the last time – and (each time) couldn’t be prouder of you, or happier for you.

    Love you!

    Jon

Leave a Reply

