Celiacs and Their Pet Peeves

I started a discussion on www.glutenfreefaces.com asking about the pet peeves of Celiacs.

Here are my favourites:

  1. I was just diagnosed 3 months ago, but so far my “favorite” response was, “don’t worry honey, you will grow out of it”!

      2.   I hate when you go to a restaurant and order all gluten free meals and then          they still bring you their delicious breadsticks…I don’t want gluten in my food – Why would I want to eat a Stick-o-Gluten?

       3.   “Don’t you have an epi-pen or a shot you can take if you get gluten?” That’s my favorite. That and the look of shock on their face when I tell them it isn’t an allergy, it’s an auto-immune disorder. There’s nothing we can take to fix it.

       4.   I don’t know that its a pet peeve, but more of just not understanding….Food items have to have “Contains Wheat” on the label if it contains wheat…Why does it not say barely and rye as well? Or just “Contains Gluten?” I was under the assumption that the “Contains Wheat” label was for people with Gluten issues.

       5.   A box of food that says “gluten free” in huge letters, but when you read the ingredients it says “processed in a place that also processes WHEAT”….so is it gluten free or not? I don’t even want to try it.

       6.   The “Oh, that’s terrible!” reaction. My response-“actually, no it’s not.”

I thought you might be interested in reading these because so many of us share the same frustrations.

If you would like to check out the entire discussion, you can find it at http://ning.it/aMH2io

4 thoughts on “Celiacs and Their Pet Peeves

  1. Almost missed this comment! Thank you for sharing that. It has been my experience that restaurants etc. will offer a gluten free menu but have not a clue about cross-contamination! I guess it is up to us to educate them.
    To may other readers checking this out, check out http://glugleglutenfree.wordpress.com while you are at it.
    Take care of you,
    Jayne

  2. Hi Aunt Jayne,

    I love number 6. I totally agree. So many people feel sorry for me, but I would much rather feel as good as I do now compared to how I used to feel. And, I don’t really miss bread after not eating any for a few weeks.

    I’m glad you are taking up the cause for traveling. I used to have to travel for my job, and the turnarounds were so fast, I never really go tin the groove of packing food for myself. I don’t know how many time I lived on snickers because it was the only thing I would trust. I also read about a woman who got stuck on a job-required cruise for her husband. She called a head and was told she would be fine. Ended up barely being able to eat anything for a week because of cross contamination. There were no stops until it was over. Yikes!

    xoxo,
    Tia 😛

  3. Great pet peeve Robin! I have several allergies as well as Celiac, so I understand what you mean.
    I have lost most of what little faith I had in the medical profession and I will soon be launching a campaign aimed at airlines, trains, cruise ships and restaurants in general to try to make them aware of our plight.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. I would like to direct you to both my Brazilian cheese bread and my ABC Blender breads (both are yeast free and delicious.
    Take care of you,
    Aunt Jayne

  4. I do not have Celiac disease. I’m allergic to wheat – all of it: kernel, chaff, gluten, bran. And to its relatives, including lemongrass, wild rice, and all the “alternative” grains (amaranth, kamut, quinoa, spelt).

    Just to make life interesting, I’m also allergic to yeast.

    I rely a lot on GF foods, because they are usually safe for me, too. The notable exception is bread, of course, because of the yeast.

    My pet peeve is the continuing ignorance of much of the healthcare industry about Celiac Disease and wheat allergy. These have become imcreasingly common among Baby Boomers. The airlines rarely offer special meals that accommodate us, and far too few restaurants are prepared to deal with us.

Leave a Reply

