Gluten Free Hospital Food – A letter

As many of you know, I was admitted to hospital in September.

My experience there was not great. The worst part was the food.

What they served me was, indeed, gluten free. It was also unpalatable! I have decided, therefore, to write to the nutritionist at my local hospital in hopes that they will improve their gluten free meals.

I encourage you to write you your local hospital too! Perhaps if they hear from enough of us, they will make the necessary changes.

Here is the body of my letter:

To Whom it May Concern: I would like to bring to your attention, the fact that 1 in 130 (approx.) people in North America has Celiac disease. Add to that, the people who are gluten intolerant and those who are allergic to wheat, rye, and or barley and you get a significant portion of the population!

I would like you to think about these people and consider taking a look at what you are feeding them in your hospital. We are not expecting gourmet meals. I understand that it is difficult to cook gluten free in a kitchen that must handle so many other dietary issues.

Here is my suggestion.

There is a book called Gluten Free in 5 minutes that has some really wonderful, easy to make foods. Also, there are recipes for many gluten free foods available on the internet such as http://www.glutenfreewithauntjayne.com http://www.glutenfreeeasily.com http://www.gluten-freemadesimple.com .

There are also many sites to purchase gluten free mixes as well.

Please take a few minutes to check out the sites and book mentioned above and work on your gluten free menu.

Sincerely,

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Hospital Food – A letter

Leave a Reply

